Image: Zoë Hilton

Conference delivered!

Thank you for participating and if you attended you will continue to have access to all session recordings and poster presentations until fantastic 13 October 2021.

View the programme and abstract book on the programme webpage here.

Welcome to Nelson, New Zealand for Physiomar & ANZMBS 2021!

Physiomar is a triennial international forum for discussion of recent advances in all aspects of the physiology of aquatic invertebrates. The conference has no parallel sessions and is usually attended by participants from over 25 countries. It is an opportunity to maximise exchange of knowledge and expertise, and encourage collaboration in all areas including functional biology, growth, nutrition, reproduction, and adaptation to an ever-changing environment.

Following highly successful conferences in Mexico, France, Canada, Spain, Chile and the UK, Physiomar 2021 will be held in New Zealand and hosted by the Cawthron Institute, New Zealand's largest independent science organisation. 

The Australia New Zealand Marine Biotechnology Society (ANZMBS) aims to advance marine biotechnology in Australia and New Zealand through the exchange of ideas and collaborations between researchers, biotechnologists, industry and government colleagues and other interested parties. This will be the 4th ANZMBS Conference.

Physiomar International Committee

  • M. Luz Pérez Parallé – Senior scientist and Professor at Institute of Aquaculture, University of Santiago de Compostela, Spain
  • Katherina Brokordt – Professor at the Aquaculture Department, Universidad Católica del Norte, Chile
  • Pierre Boudry – Department of Biological Resources and Environment, Ifremer, France
  • Doris Abele – Alfred Wegener Institute Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research, Germany
  • Rejean Tremblay – Professor at the Institut des Sciences de la Mer, Université du Québec à Rimouski UQAR, Canada
  • Horacio Heras – Professor, Universidad Nacional de la Plata UNLP - CONICET, Argentina
  • Simon Morley – British Antarctic Survey, UK
  • Ziniu Yu – Professor, South China Sea Institute of Oceanology, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China


Proudly supported and hosted by:

Regional Committee

  • Natali Delorme - Cawthron Institute (Physiomar Co-chair)
  • Norman Ragg - Cawthron Institute (Physiomar Co-chair)
  • Mike Packer - Cawthron Institute (ANZMBS Chair)
  • Georgina Dowd - Plant & Food Research (ANZMBS)
  • Mathew Cumming - Plant & Food Research (ANZMBS)
  • Zoë Hilton* - Cawthron Institute
  • Maria Byrne - University of Sydney
  • Leonie Venter – Auckland University of Technology
  • Jess Ericson – Cawthron Institute
  • Brendon Dunphy – Auckland University
  • Louis Tremblay – Cawthron Institute
  • Natalie Moltschaniwskyj – Department Primary Industries (Australia) 

*A special note of thanks for your work as one of the original co-chairs Zoë.

Key Dates

20 June 2021 

Extended abstract deadline

End of June 2021 

Notification of abstract acceptance

31 July 2021

Early bird registration deadline

7 - 9 Sept 2021

Virtual Conference now with ANZMBS

Photo credit: Cawthron Institute
Photo credit: Zoë Hilton
Photo credit: Zoë Hilton

Conference Organisers

Conferences & Events Ltd
Conference Manager: Kerry South  
 +64  4 282 1633

This event is organised by Conferences & Events Ltd, Nelson, Wellington, Auckland & Nationwide.  We are a New Zealand business.